Posted in Thoughts

Religion and Transition

I grew up in very strict, very conservative church, and my transition has been a point of contention with my religion, especially since the Bible is very clear about gender roles.

I will probably always feel like I’m sinning, especially since I’m now in a homosexual marriage.  However, I am a man.  God made me with more testosterone than most women. He may not have given me the biological equipment that he gives most men, but if he had, I would never have married my soulmate, because he was running away from his sexuality when we met. God also blessed doctors with the skills needed to give me the biological equipment I do not currently possess.

Doth not even nature itself teach you, that, if a man have long hair, it is a shame unto him? But if a woman have long hair, it is a glory to her: for her hair is given her for a covering. – I Corinthians 11:14-15

Growing up, my mother was very concerned about our hair.  My sisters and I had to keep it uncut.  I tried cutting it once and was told to repent of my sins.  AB got around the rule by having our pet goats nibble the ends off her hair. Even when AJ got a round brush stuck in her hair, (she tried to use like a curling iron) Mama spent several hours loosing it from her long locks without ever needing the scissors. As I grew into my male self, I began to war with myself. Should I cut my hair or not? Anatomically, I’m a female, but otherwise, I’m a male. When I finally embraced myself as a man, I decided that, in keeping with my religious beliefs, I had to cut my hair, and it was the best decision I ever made. I’m growing happier and more confident every day.

Author:

From the long line of Benjamin O'Phares', steps the proud Phares Loren Hutchison, the first transguy to bear the family name with the dignity he was never bestowed.

Leave a Reply

